Adobe: Your account is not been impacted and its completely safe

[Adobe rep]: Hello! Welcome to Adobe Customer Service.

Bjørn T.: Hi, the Adobe leaked credentials checker at http://adobe.cynic.al reports that my credentials appear in the stolen data set. On your site, you state that «You will receive an email notification from Adobe», but I have not been notified. Who should I trust in this matter? Have you finished sending e-mails to all involved customers?

[Adobe rep]: Let me check and help you.

[Adobe rep]: I see that your account is not been impacted and its completely safe.

Bjørn T.: Then why is it that cynic.al reports that my e-mail address is in the stolen data set? See for yourself, visit the site and enter my e-mail.

[Adobe rep]: I did check your account its not impacted.

Bjørn T.: But, when I enter my e-mail it says «[address] was found. You need to change your passwords now.». If I change my e-mail address slightly to e.g. [slightly altered address] it changes to «[slightly altered address] was not found. You seem to be safe.». So obviously they seem to know I’m a customer of yours. How is that?

Bjørn T.: You see? The guys over at cynic.al show that they have my real e-mail address in their data. How can they, if my e-mail wasn’t among the stolen ones?

[Adobe rep]: I do understand. But as per the records, your account is not impacted. However as a precaution you can reset the password.

[Adobe rep]: Is there anything else I can help you with?

Bjørn T.: Do you have some official response from Adobe regarding the cynic.al site?

[Adobe rep]: No.

Bjørn T.: I must say this seriously bugs me. You’re claiming I’m not affected, yet this site proves they have my e-mail on storage. Does Adobe have an explanation to that?

[Adobe rep]: In this case, you can contact them.

Bjørn T.: Sorry?

[Adobe rep]: Did you receive the email from Adobe systems?

Bjørn T.: No, that’s what’s worrisome. It seems you are not contacting those affected.

[Adobe rep]: Then please ignore the email.

[Adobe rep]: Is there anything else I can help you with?

Bjørn T.: But I haven’t got an e-mail! That’s the problem!

Bjørn T.: The way I found cynic.al was that a major Norwegian newspaper, Dagbladet, had a link to them, saying every Adobe client should check it out. And I did. And the site reports that my e-mail is in the stolen data set.

[Adobe rep]: You will receive email from Adobe, if the account is involved in the incident.

Bjørn T.: OK, so does that mean that Adobe has not finished sending e-mails to all involved customers?

[Adobe rep]: I see that you account is safe and not impacted.

Bjørn T.:

[Adobe rep]: Is there anything else I can help you with?

[Adobe rep]: Thank you for contacting Adobe. We are available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day. Goodbye!

Chat Information: This chat session has ended. Thank you for contacting Adobe.

About Bjørn Solnørdal Tennøe

Interaction designer, happy camper & biker, proud father to three krazy kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adobe: Your account is not been impacted and its completely safe

  1. Pingback: uke 46 - Making Waves Blog

Comments are closed.